Beet Cake

Level of Difficulty: Easy 

Ingredients 

  • 1.8 oz (50 g) of cocoa
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1.5 tsp of baking powder
  • 4/5 cup (200 g) of sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • About 1 cup (200 g exactly) of oil
  • 9 oz (250 g) of beet puree
  • 3.5 oz (100 g) of dark chocolate chips

Directions 

Cook the beets until soft. After cooking them, peel them while still warm. Make a puree out of the beets.

In a bowl, mix all of the wet ingredients. Then add the dry ingredients and mix everything until smooth. At the end, at the chocolate chips.

DSC01795.JPG

Pour into a 9 in x 13 in (22 cm x 33 cm) pan

Bake at 330 F (165 C) for 40-45 min.

Thoughts 

My mom had some friends over recently, so she asked me to bake something new and different. I chose to try this cake out, and I was pleasantly surprised. Everyone really enjoyed this cake.

The flavor of beets is undetectable in it. The cake is moist and fluffy. The chocolate chips are optional. My mom said she would prefer it without, but I liked the chocolate addition.

This cake was very easy and quick to make. It is perfect as dessert with some tea or coffee.

Enjoy 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great idea! With inspirations like this, your bakery draws ever closer. Aesthetically, beets give the chocolate a nice blush. In fact, this looks a bit like red velvet cake, only much healthier. Superb!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dangerouslybeautifulmoms says:

    Oooo! I’m excited to try this. I’ve been looking for an actual Red Velvet recipe that uses beets for its signature red flavor, and trying to find that recipe is like searching for the elusive jackalope. Maybe this is a start?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think this would be a perfect start! Let me know if you try it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment